New Phone

I have a new phone! It has been two years since I changed phones, so it was time for a new one.

I would normally include a picture of said new item, but unfortunately I take pictures using my phone and I can’t take a picture of my new phone with my new phone so you will have to make do with imagining it. It is black and rectangular with rounded corners and has a black cover with a newspaper-themed picture of skyscrapers on the back.

How did I get this new phone, you might ask? I will tell you the story.

I’ve been with Telus since 2003. That’s a long time. My history with Telus has been very regular. Every time my contract expires, I renew it for pretty much the same conditions and get a new free phone while I’m at it. I usually get the best phone I can get for free (you know, one of those $0 with 2-year contract kind of phones) because I’m cheap and don’t want to spend money. I also stick with the cheapest plan I can get, which is currently $25/month.

My plan was to do the same thing I’ve been doing for almost a decade and a half, and so near the end of my contract, I asked a bunch of people for advice on which new phone to get. I don’t know anything about phones, so I wanted outside opinions. I gave them my choices, which were basically the only phones on the Telus website that were free, but most people gave me useless advice like “get the Pixel” or “something something expensive phone.” These people did not understand my needs. Ivy was a little more helpful and gave me a ranking for the three phones I offered her, incidentally giving the phone with the best camera the highest rating. This phone was the LG X Power, which was what I decided to get.

Unfortunately Telus foiled my plans due to their change in policy. Apparently my plan is so old, it can no longer be renewed. I can keep it and go month to month, but it doesn’t count as a contract and thus can’t be renewed for me to get a new free phone. I really wanted a new phone as mine was kind of slow and I also dropped it recently so it’s cracked. Additionally, several people wanted me to get a new phone because my phone camera was quite bad and I would send people lots of dark and blurry snaps using Snapchat and they didn’t like it. It’s not like I was trying to send bad pictures, but my camera just wasn’t very good. Chris wants me to mention that I put no effort into making my snaps better, but I think the fact that I sent snaps at all deserves commendation and should be enough on its own. I will also blame it on the camera and not on my nonchalant photography lack of enthusiasm.

I was very upset at not being able to renew my contract with Telus, because it essentially means I have no incentive to stay with them, as there are better/cheaper plans out there, such as what Chris has with Koodo, so I will likely switch to them in then near future, but I am slow at making these kinds of decisions and taking this kind of action, so it will still take me some time to actually make the switch. The one thing Telus offered me was I could still buy the phone (LG X Power) for $50 with no contract. Unfortunately I am quite steadfast in my desire not to spend any money whatsoever on a phone. Ben was mildly interested in this deal and may want to buy the phone for himself, but he is taking a long time to look up the specs despite my constant reminders, which is a bit annoying because he needs to decide before I can switch providers. I think he keeps forgetting so if you see him, please remind him.

I was sad at not being able to get a new phone…but Jess to the rescue! She offered me her old back-up phone, which is a Nexus 5, and much better than my old one, which I think was a Samsung Galaxy Core or something like that. I’m not very good with phone types or names. So now I have Jess’ Nexus 5 (thank you, Jess!). It is very fast, much faster than my old phone. And I guess more importantly for other people, it has a better camera so now my snaps are much clearer and brighter and better. I send lots of snaps of food, particularly free food. I don’t take snaps of much else. I secretly think one of the biggest reasons that Jess offered me her phone is that she was the most annoyed at my bad snaps. She complained a lot about them.

I’m still figuring out how to use this new phone and am also still in the process of transferring everything over from my old one. One thing I can’t figure out is when you send a message as a chat in Snapchat, my phone dings and I don’t know how to get rid of it. For some reason, I didn’t have this problem with my old phone. Sound is off for notifications and it’s also muted for apps in general, so I don’t know what to do about it. NDRC Junior was unfortunately not able to help me. I think they are getting old and are maybe not so junior anymore and thus not in touch with the times and modern technology. If anybody knows how to get rid of it, please help me.

Leave a Reply

