Wheat Thins

Wheat Thins.

Wheat. Thins.

Wheat.

Thins.

No matter how many times I say it, it doesn’t sound attractive. “Wheat” makes me think of whole grains and healthiness and the colour brown and oats and basically things that don’t taste good (yes, I know that some of these things can in fact taste good but generally speaking here). And “thins”? Please. Anything with the word “thins” in its name can’t be good.

Except that’s where I’m wrong.

Wheat Thins are freaking delicious. Who would’ve thought?

During a certain Walmart adventure (that’s a story for another day), we were provided with snacks, which included cheese and crackers. There were three types of cheese: an herbed goat cheese, an herbed Boursin, and a solid block of what I suspect was Balderson cheddar but am not entirely sure because I didn’t see the package. There were also two types of crackers: Triscuits and Wheat Thins.

I’m not a huge fan of Triscuits. They’re okay, but I’d rather eat other things. I didn’t think I would like the Wheat Thins, but I knew I wouldn’t like the Triscuits, so I figured might as well try the Wheat Thins.

And you know what? They were legit AMAZING.

On their own, the whole grain Wheat Thins tasted really good. But add a chunk of Balderson white cheddar? It completely changes the taste and makes both the cheese and the cracker extra delicious. I’m pretty sure I demolished a good half of the block of cheese and probably more than half of the cracker box on my own. I just kept going back to the food table and taking more and more. At one point I felt a little guilty but I cared about the cheese and crackers more than I cared about other people so I kept eating.

A few weeks later, I found Wheat Thins were actually on sale at Sobey’s and bought three boxes. Yeah, that’s right, three. Don’t judge me. I wasn’t sure which flavour was the one that I had had (I later found out it was whole wheat), so I just decided to buy all the flavours I was interested in, which included spinach and garlic, tomato and basil, and whole wheat. They were all good, but the whole wheat was definitely best (I would never have expected that). I plan to buy more next time they’re on sale and try new flavours.

Disclaimer: this post is not sponsored by Christie, the manufacturer of Wheat Thins, or Balderson, or affiliated with them in any way. I just really like Wheat Thins.

2 thoughts on “Wheat Thins

Leave a Reply

