Star Wars V: The Empire Strikes Back

I just finished watching Star Wars, episode V. I didn’t do a commentary on this one because I got lazy. I do have a few questions, though, so maybe someone can answer them.

How did Luke learn R2D2’s language? Didn’t he need C3PO to translate before? It all seems very sudden to me. And doesn’t it take a long time to learn a new language? Plus, this one seems extra difficult since it consists mainly of squeaks and bops.

Furthermore, did Luke not tell anyone that he was leaving to go to some random planet and therefore not meeting everyone else at their rendez-vous point? Wouldn’t people think he died?

Also! OMG Yoda is so cute. He’s like a muppet. His voice makes me think of Grover. Completely not what I was expecting. I was expecting someone very old and wise (which I guess he is), but more dignified and refined. Not some annoying green thing that crawls around digging into other people’s things, stealing their food, and hitting poor robots with a stick. He kind of reminds me of me.

At André’s suggestion, I’m watching the movies in what is apparently called “machete order,” which is 4, 5, 1, 2, 3, and 6. I usually have this habit of reading up on movies before I watch them so I can know exactly what happens ahead of time (I don’t like suspense) but this time I’m being very good and not reading up on Star Wars at all so it’s all new to me, or at least as new as it can be. Certain things I can’t help knowing beforehand, like Darth Vader being Luke’s father, and that doesn’t even warrant a spoiler alert because I’m pretty sure anybody that’s ever had internet knows that fact. We’ll see how it goes!
2 thoughts on “Star Wars V: The Empire Strikes Back

  1. 1. Ep 5 takes place 3 years after Ep 4. Plenty of time for Luke to learn how to understand R2.
    2. He probably did tell the others. Not everything needs to be seen on screen!
    3. Yoda acts all annoying at first to test Luke’s patience. As you saw he gets quite serious later on.
    4. To clarify, machete order actually excludes Ep 1, since it doesn’t bring anything extra to the overall story. I suggested you watch it anyway since you’d probably get mad if I told you to go straight to Episode 2. 😛

    Like

Leave a Reply

