Prosciutto, Pastrami, and Roasted Beets

I was tempted to title this post “Prosciutto, Pastrami, and Pbeets,” but decided against it.

20151104_121734

Chris roasted beets on Monday and beets automatically make everything fancy, so I shoved one into my sandwich for today. Moreover, prosciutto will automatically make everything sound gourmet, so I shoved that in there too. Two types of cold cuts in my sandwich! Don’t I sound legit?

A slightly funny story: Chris and I were at Loblaws buying more cream cheese and I noticed there were new flavours of Philadelphia cream cheese (namely, jalapeño and dill). I debated getting them for a while, but then decided that they probably wouldn’t be as good as the garden vegetable flavour. I was telling Chris how it was the best one and we should only get the best one and a Loblaws employee overheard me and laughed a bit and then asked if it was really good.

That story was less funny than I thought it would be.

Recipe for Prosciutto, Pastrami, and Roasted Beet Bagel:

  • Prep time: 12 minutes
  • Cook time: 2 hours
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Servings: 1

Ingredients:

  • 1 Sesame bagel
  • 2 tbsp Garden vegetable Philadelphia cream cheese
  • 3 Slices pastrami
  • 3 Slices prosciutto
  • 1 Slice beet

Instructions:

Buy very large beets from Chinatown. I say very large, because I’m pretty sure cooking times vary depending on the size of the beets and I only know what to do for very large beets. Rinse and scrub the beets. I’m really not sure how clean you’re supposed to get them to be, and I’m also not entirely sure how to scrub them. Chris used a knife to “scrub” them, but I don’t think that’s necessarily the best way.

Wrap the beets (individually) in aluminum foil and set them on a baking pan. Bake them for an hour at 400 °F and take them out of the oven, assuming they’re done. Notice that one exploded and that there is beet juice leaking out of the aluminum foil. Wait five minutes for it to cool down, then unwrap the exploded one and poke at it with a fork. Notice that it still feels quite hard and is nowhere near to being done, rewrap it, and pop the beets all back in the oven. Figure that half an hour more in the oven is probably enough, but get lazy, so you only want to press a button once instead of 30 times and therefore bake the beets for another hour. Take them out after the hour, wait another five minutes, and poke at the same beet as before. Give up on waiting any longer and assume the beets are done, because it’s late at night and you really don’t want to wait anymore.

Get a sesame bagel and tear it apart into halves. Spread the cream cheese on each half and layer prosciutto on one half, following it up with pastrami. Cut the beets into thick slices and place a slice on top of the pastrami. Cover with the second half of the bagel.

2 thoughts on “Prosciutto, Pastrami, and Roasted Beets

Leave a Reply

