Sick

I’m sick.

I woke up with a stuffed-up feeling throat (do you know the feeling? When it feels like there’s a lump of phlegm stuck in your throat and you can’t swallow it nor can you cough it up). It hurt a little bit to swallow, but overall I didn’t feel too bad.

Over the course of the morning, my state of well-being remained unchanged. After lunch, though, I started to get a bit of a stuffy nose. And here we have it: the feeling when you can see that you’re starting to get sick and can’t do a single thing about it. I pretty much just watched myself get sicker throughout the day and couldn’t stop it.

At some point in the afternoon, I started to feel achy. The kind of flu-type ache that affects your limbs. I had planned to do Gavin’s Wednesday workout after school followed by the 40 minute run (so good, right?), but was now starting to have second thoughts. I debated myself for a while and finally decided to do the workout, but skip the run (don’t tell Gavin).

And then…around mid-afternoon, I started getting even sicker. Eventually, my arms and legs felt so sore that I decided screw it, I’d just do a quick half-workout. It was pretty much a fast downhill from there, because though it took a while to get going from the morning, my overall sickliness quickly snowballed until I finally decided not to workout at all because oh my goodness, I felt like poop.

By the time I got home, I was feeling seriously tired. The worst part was that I had a meeting scheduled with my profs the next day and had to prepare a presentation for it. While being sick is a legitimate reason to ask to postpone the meeting, I really just wanted to get it over with so I’m currently deciding to power through it. Oh man, though, I feel so sucky right now. I’m feeling a little dehydrated (tried drinking water, but it hurts to swallow), I’ve started to get chills and I think I might even have a bit of a fever right now.

Good student that I am, I set up an experiment today for tomorrow (it requires an overnight step) so I will attempt to finish that tomorrow in addition to completing this presentation and making it through the meeting alive. Wish me luck!

2 thoughts on “Sick

Leave a Reply

