NDRC BBQ + Burger Sandwich

Yesterday was the NDRC end of year BBQ and team meeting. Lots of good food! I particularly enjoyed the sautéed mushrooms and onions that Derrick made as a topping for the burgers, and the chicken skewers. The chicken skewers were so good. Big thanks to Derrick and Steph for organizing! Also it was nice hanging out with teammates and cool people. Interesting tidbit, I scootered to Derrick’s place from mine (40 minute walk turned into a 20 minute scooter ride) and on my way I passed by Stephano. I didn’t know he was coming and I passed him quite quickly so at the time I just thought to myself “that guy looks kinda like Stephano.” He actually arrived at Derrick’s about a minute after I did, after which I realized the person I passed actually was Stephano. Funnily enough, Daniela wasn’t able to make the party and had told him that, but he thought she had been trolling them (well, turns out she wasn’t).

Unfortunately I forgot to take a picture when most of the food was still there, so you will have to be satisfied with the leftovers.

20150920_185111

Both the coach and the execs gave presentations summarizing the past season and on looking forward to the next, with time at the end for team members to ask questions. The best question was Adrian’s: “When are you going to send the next workout because I’m dying.”

There was a ton of food left over. Steph was really nice and mostly gave it out to the poor students (me and André). André being André had a nice haul of bread to bring home. See how proud he looks!

20150920_220658

I didn’t get a picture of my take-home leftovers, but I got burgers, the last bit of the spinach-cheese twist, a few leaves of lettuce because I felt like I should try to be a little healthy, and the remainder of the cheese slices. I was so happy I got to take home the cheese because that cheese is delicious and I’m pretty sure I got full off that cheese before the BBQ even really started. I ate a lot of food (too much) and got really full, which kinda impacted my ability to pay proper attention to the presentations due to itis. I’ll tell you a secret: I fell asleep for one slide during Gavin’s presentation (don’t tell Gavin).

On the bright side, lots of leftovers meant I had a pretty good lunch today! I made a burger sandwich, consisting of a leftover hamburger patty, two DIFFERENT kinds of cheese (because I was fancy like that), Fontaine Santé hummus (I need to finish it at some point), and one lettuce leaf (I tried to be healthy). Quite filling, which was good, because I didn’t have breakfast today and so was pretty hungry come lunch.

20150921_123346

Recipe for Burger Sandwich:

  • Prep time: 3 minutes
  • Cook time: 0 minutes
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Servings: 1

Ingredients:

  • 2 Slices of partially frozen white Wonderbread
  • 2 tbsp Hummus
  • 1 Hamburger patty
  • 1 Slice havarti cheese
  • 1 Slice cheddar cheese
  • 1 Leaf lettuce

Instructions:

Spread the hummus evenly on one piece of bread. Place the hamburger patty on top of the hummus. Put one slice of cheese on half of the patty, because it isn’t big enough to cover the entire patty, and put the other slice of cheese on the other half. Add the leaf of lettuce to your stack. Cover with the second piece of bread. Have one slice of cheese fall out as you’re trying to put the sandwich in a Ziploc. Exasperatedly shove it back into the sandwich, so that you end up with two slices of cheese overlapping and no longer nicely covering the burger, but you don’t care enough to do it properly so it’s good enough. Note that there are more ingredients in this sandwich than usual, so it takes a little longer to make.

Leave a Reply

