Pad Thai and Coleslaw

I can offer readers new ideas for lunch! Today’s lunch was another sandwich. Yesterday I used up the last of my honey ham and I forgot to buy more cold cuts, so I improvised. Thus, today’s sandwich was a pad thai and coleslaw sandwich. The huge Summer Fresh salads were on sale at Metro for $5 each, which is a pretty good price (I bought three). I got the pad thai, coleslaw, and caprese pasta salad ones. I really like the pad thai salad (even though it’s not at all like actual pad thai) and the coleslaw, but the pasta salad was a disappointment. I maintain this hope that someday I will find a good pasta salad bought from a store but so far I have yet to succeed. Every pasta salad so far that I’ve bought in my life has been a disappointment.

20150909_121551

Anyway, back to the sandwich. I didn’t have cold cuts, so I took some pad thai and coleslaw and stuffed it between two slices of free-OneWest bread. It was a pretty decent sandwich, but the bread did get a bit soggy in some places. I’m not really a picky eater, though, so I didn’t care. Consistency of the filling was nice and creamy. I’d like to mention that I’ve made a pad thai sandwich before (without the coleslaw) and Caren hardcore judged me for the “carb-on-carb atrocity.” So make it at your own risk.

I haven’t eaten it yet, but I also packed a peach that I got from yesterday’s free UTGSU BBQ (they had grilled corn!). I have this tendency to pack fruit for lunch every day and then always forgetting to eat it. We’ll see if I eat it today. Oh, the suspense.

Recipe for Pad Thai and Coleslaw Sandwich:

  • Prep time: 2 minutes
  • Cook time: 0 minutes
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Servings: 1

Ingredients:

  • 2 Slices of bread
  • 4 tbsp Pad thai
  • 2 tbsp Coleslaw

Instructions:

Spread the pad thai on one piece of bread. Dump the coleslaw onto the pad thai. Cover with the second piece of bread.

Leave a Reply

